Resolution on the political situation in Uganda

On February 11, we in the European Parliament adopted a resolution on the political situation in Uganda. In response to my speech, I have received hundreds of messages from Uganda that have moved me deeply. I would like to express my solidarity with the people who are taking to the streets in their country for freedom and democracy.

I have never been to Uganda. I focus my political work primarily to European regional and cultural policy. The conditions in Uganda, however, demand resolute opposition from all democrats.

It is not for me to judge which of the candidates of January 14 would be the best president for Uganda. And that is not the point. The point is whether the people of Uganda can exercise their right to decide this question for themselves.

There is considerable doubt about the legitimacy of the January 14 presidential election. Corona measures were abused to obstruct opposition members. People were prevented violently from casting their votes.

If the acting President Yoweri Museveni is to dispel doubts about his legitimacy, new elections must be held. Violence against opposition politicians and demonstrators must end immediately. Uganda must allow independent observers from the United Nations, the African Union and other international partners – including the European Union – into the country. The international community is called upon to financially support the organization of new elections if necessary.

You can find my speech on YouTube.

Resolution on human rights in Kazakhstan

The European Parliament calls on the Kazakh government to comply with its international obligations and uphold human rights. Yesterday, we MEPs adopted a respective resolution with an overwhelming majority. Kazakhstan is an important partner of the European Union. Just last year, the so-called Enhanced Partnership and Cooperation Agreement (EPCA) entered into force. It not only…

Read more

Webinar: Brexit Killing Culture?

The Brexit is no good news for the Cultural and Creative Sectors in both the EU and the UK. The UK will no longer participate in Europe’s major Creative Europe programme. Apart from this, intercultural exchange between the EU and the UK will become more difficult. How will touring bands and other mobile performers be…

Read more

General

Themes

Resolution zur politischen Situation in Uganda

Am 11. Februar haben wir im Europäischen Parlament eine Resolution zur politischen Situation in Uganda verabschiedet. In Reaktion auf meine Rede haben mich hunderte Nachrichten aus Uganda erreicht, die mich tief bewegt haben. Den Menschen, die in ihrem Land für Freiheit und Demokratie auf die Straße gehen, möchte ich meine Solidarität aussprechen.

Ich war niemals in Uganda. Meine politische Arbeit widme ich vor allem der europäischen Regional- und Kulturpolitik. Die Zustände in Uganda aber verlangen entschiedenen Widerspruch von allen Demokrat*innen. 

Es steht mir nicht zu, darüber zu urteilen, welcher der Kandidat*innen vom 14. Januar der oder die beste Präsident*in für das Uganda wäre. Und darum geht es nicht. Es geht darum, ob die Menschen in Uganda von ihrem Recht gebrauchen machen können, diese Frage selbst zu entscheiden.

An der Rechtmäßigkeit der Präsidentschaftswahl vom 14. Januar gibt es erhebliche Zweifel. Corona-Maßnahmen wurden missbraucht, um Oppositionelle zu behindern. Menschen wurden teils gewaltsam davon abgehalten, ihre Stimme abzugeben.

Wenn der amtierende Präsident Yoweri Museveni die Zweifel an seiner Legitimität ausräumen will, müssen Neuwahlen stattfinden. Gewalt gegen Oppositionspolitiker*innen und Demonstrant*innen müssen ein sofortiges Ende finden. Uganda muss unabhängige Beobachter der Vereinten Nationen, der Afrikanischen Union und weiterer internationaler Partner*innen — gerne auch der Europäischen Union — ins Land lassen. Die internationale Gemeinschaft ist aufgefordert, die Organisation von Neuwahlen bei Bedarf finanziell zu unterstützen.

Meine Rede findet ihr auf YouTube.

 

Resolution zu Menschenrechten in Kasachstan

Das Europäische Parlament fordert die kasachische Regierung auf, ihren internationalen Verpflichtungen nachzukommen und die Menschenrechte zu wahren. Gestern haben wir Abgeordneten eine entsprechende Resolution mit überwältigender Mehrheit verabschiedet. Kasachstan ist ein wichtiger Partner der Europäischen Union. Erst letztes Jahr ist das sogenannte „Enhanced Partnership and Cooperation Agreement“ (EPCA) in Kraft getreten. Darin wird nicht nur…

Weiterlesen

Einladung – Konferenz: Zukunft.Land.Leben.

Viele Personen, Initiativen und Institutionen haben bereits die Ärmel hochgekrempelt. Sie haben Dorfläden gegründet und Dörfer damit wachgeküsst. Energie- und Mobilitätsfragen konkret für die eigene Kommune gelöst. Oder Bahnhöfe für Kultur und Geselligkeit umgebaut. Ideenreich, mutig und zukunftsorientiert. Was braucht es jetzt, um von einzelnen Leuchttürmen und Vorbildern zum guten Leben in der Fläche zu…

Weiterlesen

Allgemeines

Themen