Webinar: Space Race 2.0

Space policy sounds like the distant future. But space travel is currently undergoing rapid change. And we need to prepare for this.

Space travel is becoming increasingly important — not only for telecommunications, but also for science, from medicine to climate research. Its ongoing privatization promises billions in profits, and the world’s richest people are pushing their companies forward. At the same time, major powers such as the USA and China are pushing ahead with the militarization of space.

International space law is not prepared for this Space Race 2.0 – we urgently need an update!

In the kick-off to my new webinar series on space policy, we discuss current developments in space and how policymakers can respond. Do we need a European SpaceX? How can satellites help us fight climate change? And what is actually behind the ominous “Space Forces” that some states are currently establishing?

That’s what we”ll be discussing with:

  • Dr. Josef Aschbacher, Director General, European Space Agency
  • Dr. Insa Thiele-Eich, Astronaut Candidate and Meteorologist
  • Christoph Krachten, Clixoom,  Journalist and Youtuber

The Webinar Space Race 2.0 takes place on Wednesday, 18. March 2021, 19h CET on ZOOM. German with English translation.

Please register here.

Which role will the EU play in Space?

Webinar, June 17th, 7pm Space travel is currently undergoing rapid change. New possibilities promise profits in the billions and the richest people in the world are pushing into the orbit. At the same time, major powers such as the USA and China are expanding the militarization of space. In science, from medicine to climate research,…

Read more

IRIS² – Agreement on Secure Connectivity Programme

We have reached an agreement for the European Union’s new satellite constellation. The project, previously known as the „Secure Connectivity Programme“, is now called IRIS² (Infrastructure for Resilience, Interconnection and Security by Satellites). In November, the European Parliament, the Commission and the Council met for the so-called trilogue negotiations. We agreed on the final version…

Read more

Space

Themes

Space Race 2.0 – was passiert im All?


Weltraumpolitik, das klingt nach ferner Zukunft. Doch die Raumfahrt befindet sich derzeit in einem rasanten Umbruch. Und auf diesen Umbruch müssen wir uns vorbereiten.

Die Nutzung des Alls wird immer wichtiger, nicht nur für die Telekommunikation, sondern auch für die Wissenschaft, von der Medizin bis zur Klimaforschung. Die fortschreitende Privatisierung der Raumfahrt verspricht Milliardengewinne und die reichsten Menschen der Welt drängen mit ihren Firmen in All. Zugleich treiben Großmächte wie die USA oder China eine Militarisierung des Weltraums voran.

Das internationale Weltraumrecht ist auf dieses Space Race 2.0 nicht vorbereitet — wir brauchen dringend ein Update!

Im Auftakt meiner Webinarreihe diskutieren wir aktuelle Entwicklungen im All und wie die Politik darauf reagieren kann. Brauchen wir ein europäisches SpaceX? Wie können uns Satelliten bei der Bekämpfung des Klimawandels helfen? Und was verbirgt sich eigentlich hinter den ominösen „Space Forces“, die einige Staaten gerade gründen?

Darüber diskutiere ich mit:

Das Webinar Space Race 2.0 findet am Donnerstag, 18. März 2021 um 19 Uhr statt.

Für die Teilnahme am ZOOM-Webinar könnt ihr euch hier registrieren.

Raumfahrtpolitik: Grün, Gerecht, Europäisch

Die Raumfahrt steht derzeit inmitten rasanter Umbrüche. Doch für die Politik klingt dieses wichtige Thema leider immer noch viel zu oft nach Zukunftsmusik. Als erste Fraktion im Europäischen Parlament haben wir Grüne/EFA nun eine umfassende Positionierung zur Weltraumpolitik vorgelegt. Es ist dringend an der Zeit, die Weichen für die Zukunft des Weltraums zu stellen. Wir brauchen…

Weiterlesen

Raumfahrt: Welche Rolle soll Europa spielen?

Webinar, 17. Juni um 19 Uhr Die Raumfahrt befindet sich derzeit in einem rasanten Wandel. Die reichsten Menschen der Welt drängen mit ihren Firmen in den Orbit. Zugleich treiben Großmächte wie die USA und China die Militarisierung des Weltraums voran. In der Wissenschaft, von der Medizin bis zur Klimaforschung, werden Satellitendaten und extraterrestrische Experimente immer…

Weiterlesen

Weltraum

Themen