The Rainbow in Europe

CSD Rostock 2019. Photo: Björn Schmidt

“Everyone in Europe can live and love how and whom they want – always, everywhere, without fear!” – Niklas Nienass

In March 2021, we in the EU Parliament declared the European Union an LGBTIQ Freedom Zone. Following an initiative by our MEP Terry Reintke, the resolution was adopted by a large majority. We thus made it unmistakably clear: No one in Europe should be discriminated against because of their sexual orientation or gender identity.

On average, acceptance for lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans and inter people in Europe is increasing. 76 percent are in favor of equal rights for LGBT people across the EU (Eurobarometer 2019).But that just leaves a frightening quarter. And especially in many Eastern European member states frightening majorities.

Particularly in the spotlight are Hungary and Poland, where right-wing nationalist governments systematically crack down on LGBTIQ people. In many countries in Europe, people have to live in fear because of their sexual orientation or gender identity.

The aspiration we made clear in our resolution is not yet being met in reality. A long way to go for LGBTI equality. This is the title of the latest LGBTI report by the European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights (FRA). 43 percent of all LGBT respondents state that they are discriminated against in their everyday lives. The situation is particularly serious for trans people. 60 percent of respondents experience discrimination. Compared to 2012, that’s a 17 percent increase.

I don’t want us to live together like this. I don’t want people in Europe to have to be afraid. I don’t want people to be threatened for who they are. Hate and hatred, social discrimination and legal stigmatization of LGBTIQ have no place in Europe. This is what we are fighting for with our entire Greens/EFA group in the European Parliament.

“Being yourself is not your ideology, but your identity. And no one can take it away.” Ursula von der Leyen, President of the EU Commission

Our constant fight for the rights of the LGBTIQ community over the past years has finally led to the Commission also taking these rights for granted. We will now work to ensure that the EU Commission implements its announced LGBTIQ strategy swiftly and consistently. We are putting pressure on the Commission to introduce clear legislative measures to provide legal protection for same-sex couples and their children. Marriages and adoptions must be recognized across EU borders without complications. Hate speech and hate crimes based on sexual orientation and gender identity must be consistently prosecuted. And when national governments trample on fundamental European values – and rights – this must result in sanctions. No more EU funds for the enemies of the rainbow!

Safe Trans Youth Lives!

Hate and agitation, from institutions, fellow human beings and society leave traces. Among young trans people, the suicide rate is particularly high. It shocks me that our society is driving people to their deaths. We need to stop this as soon as possible. Every person who needs help must get it quickly and without complications. I am committed to expanding free access to psychological counseling and hotlines throughout Europe.

Note: If you are not feeling well right now, you can get in touch with help worldwide and be sure you are loved!

Space: The Future of International Cooperation

Technological independence for Europe is important. But this does not mean isolation. We can only solve the major challenges of the 21st century together. The Russian war on Ukraine has an impact also on international cooperation in space. A continuation of the cooperation with the Russian space agency Roskosmos seems to be questionable at the…

Read more

Resolution on the political situation in Uganda

On February 11, we in the European Parliament adopted a resolution on the political situation in Uganda. In response to my speech, I have received hundreds of messages from Uganda that have moved me deeply. I would like to express my solidarity with the people who are taking to the streets in their country for…

Read more

United Europe

Themes

Der Regenbogen in Europa

CSD Rostock 2019. Foto: Björn Schmidt

„Jede*r in Europa darf leben und lieben, wie und wen sie*er will — immer, überall, ohne Angst!“ – Niklas Nienaß

Im März 2021 haben wir im EU-Parlament die Europäische Union zur LGBTIQ Freiheitszone erklärt. Nach einer Initiative unserer Abgeordneten Terry Reintke wurde die Resolution mit großer Mehrheit angenommen. Wir haben damit unmissverständlich klar gemacht: Niemand in Europa darf aufgrund seiner sexuellen Orientierung oder Genderidentität diskrimiert werden. 

Im Schnitt steigt die Akzeptanz für lesbische, schwule, bisexuelle, trans und inter Menschen in Europa. 76 Prozent sprechen sich im EU-weit für gleiche Rechte für LGBT-Personen aus (Eurobarometer 2019).Doch da bleibt eben ein erschreckendes Viertel. Und gerade in vielen osteuropäischen Mitgliedstaaten erschreckende Mehrheiten.

Besonders im Licht der Aufmerksamkeit stehen Ungarn und Polen, wo rechtsnationale Regierungen systematisch gegen LGBTIQ-Personen vorgehen. In vielen Ländern in Europa müssen Menschen aufgrund ihrer sexuellen Orientierung oder Geschlechtsidentität in Angst leben.

Den Anspruch, den wir mit unserer Resolution deutlich gemacht haben, können wir in der Realität noch nicht einlösen. A long way to go for LGBTI equality. So lautet der Titel des aktuellen LGBTI-Reports der Agentur der Europäischen Union für Grundrechte (FRA). 43 Prozent aller LGBT-Befragten geben dort an, in ihrem Alltag diskriminiert zu werden. Besonders gravierend ist die Situation für Transpersonen. 60 Prozent der Befragten erleben Diskrimierung. Gegenüber 2012 ist das ein Anstieg um 17 Prozent.

Ich will nicht, dass wir so zusammenleben. Ich will nicht, dass Menschen in Europa Angst haben müssen. Ich will nicht, dass Menschen dafür bedroht werden, wer sie sind. Hass und Hetze, soziale Benachteiligung und juristische Stigmatisierung von LGBTIQ haben keinen Platz in Europa. Dafür kämpfen wir mit unserer gesamten Greens/EFA Fraktion im Europäischen Parlament.

„Being yourself is not your ideology, but your identity. And no one can take it away.“ Ursula von der Leyen, Präsidentin der EU-Kommission

Unser steter Kampf für die Rechte der LGBTIQ-Community in den vergangenen Jahren hat endlich dazu geführt, dass auch die Kommission diese Rechte als selbstverständlich ansieht. Wir werden uns jetzt dafür einsetzen, dass die EU-Kommission ihre angekündigte LGBTIQ-Strategie zügig und konsequent umsetzt. Wir machen Druck, dass die Kommission klare legislative Maßnahmen auf den Weg bringt, um gleichgeschlechtliche Paare und deren Kinder rechtlich abzusichern. Ehen und Adoptionen müssen über EU-Grenzen hinweg unkompliziert anerkannt werden. Hassreden und Hassverbrechen aufgrund von sexueller Orientierung und Geschlechtsidentität müssen konsequent verfolgt werden. Und wenn nationale Regierungen europäische Grundwerte – und rechte mit Füßen treten, muss das Sanktionen nach sich ziehen. Keine EU-Gelder mehr für die Feinde des Regenbogens! 

Safe Trans Youth Lives!

Hass und Hetze, von Institutionen, Mitmenschen und der Gesellschaft hinterlassen Spuren. Unter jungen Trans Personen ist die Suizidrate besonders hoch. Es schockiert mich, dass unsere Gesellschaft Menschen in den Tod treibt. Das müssen wir so schnell wie möglich stoppen. Jede Person, die Hilfe benötigt, muss diese schnell und unkompliziert bekommen. Ich setze mich dafür ein, europaweit kostenlosen Zugang zu psychologischer Beratung und Hotlines auszubauen. 

Hinweis: Wenn es dir grade nicht gut geht, dann melde dich bitte bei hier oder einer der dort angegebene Hotlines und sei dir sicher, du wirst geliebt! 

Wie viel CO2 ich mit meinen Reisen verursache

Als Abgeordneter bin ich viel unterwegs. Ich will in Rostock präsent sein, genauso wie in Brüssel und Straßburg. Ich will in ganz Europa Menschen kennenlernen, mir ein Bild von der Lage vor Ort machen. Und das Ganze mit einem möglichst kleinen CO2-Fußabdruck.  Wie viel CO2 ich mit meinen Reisen produziere, das mache ich hier transparent….

Weiterlesen

Vereintes Europa

Themen